Home :: About Us
Follow Us:

Though India attained freedom in 1947 , number of draconian colonial laws are still operative in our country. Soon after the Indian constitution was accepted in 1950, the Indian government Promulgated PD (Prevention-Detention) Act: which lapsed finally in 1969 and paving path for MISA. About 1, 11,000 people were detained under MISA during emergency by Ms. Indira Gandhi.

There are a number of oppressive laws passed in the name of curtailing "terrorist" activities. At the Central level, there is,

1 The Prevention of Seditious Meetings Act 1911,

2 The Armed Forces Special Powers Act 1958,

3 The Disturbed Areas Act, the Unlawful Activities (Prevention) Act 1967,

4 The Conservation of Foreign Exchange and Prevention of Smuggling Activities Act 1974,

5 The Disturbed Areas Special Courts Act 1976,

6 The National Security Act 1980,

7 The Prevention of Black-marketing and Maintenance of Supplies of Essential Commodities Act 1980,

8 The Anti-Hijacking Act, 1982,

9 The Suppression of Unlawful Acts against Safety of Civil Aviation Act 1982,

10 Terrorist and Disruptive Activities (Prevention) Act, 1987 (TADA) [Because of pressure of people's movement it was scrapped , but remained in force till May 1995]

11 The Religious Institution (Prevention of Misuse) Ordinance 1988,

12 The Prevention of Illicit Traffic in Narcotic Drugs and Psychotropic Substances Act 1988,

13 The Indian Telegraph Act,

14 The Information Technology Act 2000,

15 The Prevention of Terrorism Act, (POTA) 2002 [The government was forced to repeal the law on September 21, 2004] and so on.

                                                                       << Back
Home :: About Us :: Feedback :: Contact Us
Follow Us: